Response From Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)

Dear Readers,
Please see below the response I have received to an email that I sent to US Senator Jack Reed (D-RI) petitioning him to initiate action in repealing the provisions in the National Defense Authorization Act of 2012 that provide for what is essentially kidnapping of American citizens by the US military under the direction of the President. Feel free to use the link at the bottom of this page to email him with your thoughts.
Best Regards,
Dan
Dear Rep:
 
     Thank you for contacting me regarding the detainee provisions included in the Fiscal Year 2012 National Defense Authorization Act.  I appreciate hearing from you.
 
     I believe we must strike a balance between the need to investigate and prevent terrorist activity and the need to protect an individual’s civil rights.  As such, throughout the debate on this bill, I supported efforts that strengthened Constitutional protections without undermining our ability to thwart terrorism, including specifically exempting U.S. citizens and lawful resident aliens from military detention.
 
     As we move forward, this issue will be examined by Congress and the courts.  You can be assured that I will keep your thoughts in mind as I continue my work to enhance our security and military readiness.
 
     Again, thank you for contacting me, and please do not hesitate to write, call, or visit my website, http://www.reed.senate.gov, in the future for information regarding this or any other matter.
 
Sincerely,
 
Jack Reed
United States Senator
 
 
Please do not reply to this email address as this is an outbound mailbox only.  If you’d like to send a message, please do so at http://reed.senate.gov/contact/contact-share.cfm. Thank you.

Leave a comment